Mon 4/13/09

A Daily Walk With DietPower

Walking is the best exercise for weight loss. And the things you see!


I love crows. When I was a child we had a pet crow, Joe, who sat on the back of our living room sofa (where my mother always kept a diaper spread) and talked. He had a limited vocabulary; he mostly said, "My name's Joe!" and "I'm a good boy!" But sometimes he would utter a hilariously long and drawn-out "Ww...ow!" I believe he learned this by watching the Banana Man on "Captain Kangaroo."

The crow in today's picture sat only about 20 feet from me, and as you can see, eyed me warily. Crows generally don't mind your walking past them at that distance, but if you stop to look at them, they fly away. This suddenly makes them seem eerily human, as if they know what you're thinking.

Crows also have what my grandma called "an attitude," meaning a certain air of sarcasm. If this one could have talked, I believe he would have jeered, "Take a picture! It'll last longer."

Download DietPower and lose poundsAbout this page: Precisely at noon each day, I step out of my office for a 3.5-mile walk around my Connecticut neighborhood. I carry a Panasonic Lumix DMC-TX5 pocket camera with a Leica 10x optical zoom lens. My object is to make an interesting photograph of at least one thing that is different that day. I post the results here, hoping they will inspire you and your friends to walk, too.  Terry Dunkle, DietPower founder and CEO.

Click here to return to today's page

All My Yesterdays

Sunday, April 12: A Quirky Church

Saturday, April 11: Self-Portrait in a Pothole

Friday, April 10: Easter flowers

Thursday, April 9: Dumb as a Squirrel

Wednesday, April 8: April Snow

Tuesday, April 7: Egg Trees, Connecticut Style

Monday, April 6: I Carry My Lunch

Sunday, April 5: A Tree in Spring

Saturday, April 4: Pigs with Drivers Licenses

Friday, April 3: Forsythia

Thursday, April 2: Skunk Cabbage II

Wednesday, April 1: Mystery of the Hanging Shoes

Tuesday, March 31: Downy Woodpecker

Monday, March 30: 300-Year-Old House

Sunday, March 29: The Broken Fence

Saturday, March 28: "You're Such a Delight"

Friday, March 27: Skunk Cabbage

Return to today's page

To comment on this page, .

This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information (verify here).   Ann Coulston (click for details)  Robert Epstein (click for details)  Barry Franklin (click for details) Click  here to see biographies
of DietPower's scientific
advisory board members.
  DietPower calorie counter logo

SPAM POLICY: DietPower doesn't send emails to people who haven't requested them, nor do we share email addresses with third parties. If you suspect that someone has subscribed you to our calorie counter mailing list fraudulently, email us at